About Us

Meet the Grand Traverse County
Republican Party's Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is made up of 32 members, 16 members are elected by the precint delegates in the Fall after the General Election in even numbered years, they are the "Delegate Elected Members". Delegate Elected members serve a 2 year term. The other 16 members are the "Nominee Members", the Republican nonimees for each county and state position. The term of the Nominee Members is based upon their term of office.

Delegate Elected Members Nominee Members
Molly Agostinelli Tom Bensley
Sandy Call (Vice Chair) Ron Clouse
Heather Cerone Bob Cooney
Karin Cooney Carol Crawford
Jason Gillman Cheryl Gore Follette
Eric Grebe Peggy Haines
Chuck Korn Larry Inman
Alisa Kroupa Bob Johnson
Andy Marek Steve Largent
Anna Mouser Dr. Dan Lathrop
John Roth (Chair) Christine Maxbauer
Carol Sullivan Bonnie Scheele
Barb Willing Heidi Scheppe (Treasurer)
Linda Witt (Secretary) Wayne Schmidt
Jay Zollinger Sonny Wheelock

The Executive Committee meets once a month, the second Thursday of the month. The meetings start at noon.

For meeting location please call 231.946.3333.

The purpose and object of the Executive Committee shall be:
To perform all duties delegated by law and such other duties not prohibited by law as will benefit the general welfare of the Grand Traverse County, District and State Republican Party; to coordinate the affairs and business of the Grand Traverse County Republican Party; and to adopt Bylaws by which the Executive Committee shall be governed.

Delegate Elected Members: The delegate elected members shall be those number of persons equal to the number of candidates of the Republican Party nominated for election to county offices and state legislative offices in Grand Traverse County, and shall be selected by the delegates to the fall convention of the Republican Party of Grand Traverse County taking place in the even numbered years.

To be eligible to be a Delegate Elected Member of the Executive Committee you must meet the following criteria:
(a) A registered voter in Grand Traverse County.
(b) A paid member of the Grand Traverse County Republican Party during the previous year and current year.

During the Election Cycle, our office is staffed by volunteers. We may have yard signs and bumper stickers available during the election cycle. We never know when we are getting them and how many we are going to get. Please watch our website as we get closer to the election for updates about yard signs and bumper stickers

Republican Principles

I'm a Republican because...

I BELIEVE the strength of our nation lies with the individual and that each person's dignity, freedom, ability and responsibility must be honored.

I BELIEVE in equal rights, equal justice and equal opportunity for all regardless of race, creed, sex, age or disablity.

I BELIEVE free enterprise and encouraging individual initiative have brought this nation opportunity, economic growth and prosperity.

I BELIEVE government must practice fiscal responsiblity and allow individuals to keep more of the money they earn.

I BELIEVE the proper role of government is to provide for the people only those critical functions that cannot be preformed by individuals or private organizations, and that the best government is that which governs least.

I BELIEVE the most effective, responsible and responsive government is government closest to the people.

I BELIEVE Americans must retain the principles that have made us strong while developing new and innovative ideas to meet the challenges of changing times.

I BELIEVE Americans value and should preserve out national strength and pride while working to extend peace, freedom and human rights throughout the world.

FINALLY, I believe the Republican Party is the best vehicle for translating these ideals into positive and successful principles of government.